The Parliament Election 2019

The Parliament Election is an important event for the citizens of Finland and it occurs every 4th year. The election day is on the third Sunday of April unless Easter affects its schedule. There are about 200 representatives in the Finnish Parliament, which represent the opposite and governing party. The duties of the parliament include but not restricted to regulating the law, determining the budget, and administering the activities of the authorities.

The new parliament, which will be assigned on a 4-year term, stipulates on the political curriculum and formation of the Government. The parliament also chooses the Prime Minister and the Prime Minister chooses the members of the cabinet. The President of the Republic will officially delegate the Prime Minister and his/her cabinet.

In the current election, there are about 2468 candidates of which 139 are not represented by any party. The largest parties are Suomen Keskusta (KESK), Perussuomalaiset (PS), Kokoomus ( KOK), Sosiaalidemokraatit ( SDP), Vihreät ( VIHR) and Vasemmistoliitto (VAS).

There are two electoral alliance by different political parties which have a common political agenda. The first electoral alliance is formed by Liberaalipuolue (LIBE), Piraattipuolue (PIR), Eläinoikeuspuolue (EOP), and Feministinen puolue (FP); and the second electoral alliance is formed by Kansalaispuolue (KP) and Suomen Kansa Ensin (SKE).

There are about 19 parties all together, as listed below:

KESK: Suomen Keskusta r.p. / Centre Party Parliamentary Group

PS: Perussuomalaiset r.p / Finns Party Parliamentary Group

KOK: Kansallinen Kokoomus r.p / National Coalition Party Parliament Group

SDP: Suomen Sosialidemokraattinen Puolue / Social Democratic Parliamentary Group

VIHR: Vihreä liitto r.p. / Green Parliamentary Group

VAS: Vasemmistoliitto r.p / Left Alliance Parliamentary Group

RKP: Suomen ruotsalainen kansanpuolue r.p. / Swedish Parliamentary Group

KD: Suomen Kristillisdemokraatit / Christian Democratic Parliamentary Group

SKP: Suomen Kommunistinen Puolue / The Communist Party

KTP: Kommunistinen Työväenpuolue / The Communist Labor Party

LIBE: Liberaalipuolue / Liberal Party

PIR: Piraattipuolue r.p / Pirate Party

EOP: Eläinoikeuspuolue r.p / Animal Justice Party

KP: Kansalaispuolue r.p. / Citizen´s Party Parliamentary Group

FP: Feministinen puolue r.p / Feminist Party

IP: Itsenäisyyspuolue r.p. / Independance Party

SIN: Sininen tulevaisuus r.p / Blue Reform Parliamentary Group

SKE: Suomen Kansa Ensin r.p. / Finnish Nation First Party

STL: Seitsemän tähden liike r.p. / Seven Star Movement Party

Liike Nyt- Movement´s Parliamentary Group